Spicy Edamame

Spicy edamame is one of those things that I always love at Japanese restaurants, but I’ve never really thought about making it at home. I don’t know why because when I finally tried making it – it was easier than anything. And such a fantastic and healthy vegan snack. I’m really bad at measuring stuff when I’m just tossing ideas together, but here’s the jist of the recipe:

  • 1 Bag of Edamame in their pods (cooked according to its directions, steamed or boiled)
  • canola oil spray
  • 3 cloves of garlic smooshed through a garlic press (I used REALLY BIG cloves because I love garlic)
  • 3¬†tablespoons of low sodium soy sauce
  • 1 heaping tablespoon of brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon of red pepper flakes
  • 3 tablespoons of rice¬†vinegar
  • 1/2 tablespoon of siracha
  • 2 tablespoons of water

Make the edamame and set them aside. Over medium heat, spray a pan with some canola oil and add all the remaining ingredients (no edamame). Cook for 3-4 minutes while the sauce thickens up. As you look at the sauce, add whatever else you think it needs – more soy sauce, more spices, etc. When it looks a little bit thicker than how it started out toss it with the edamame. Ta-da – edamame magic! I was a bit nervous when I made it because I felt like I put way too many red pepper flakes, and then with the siracha – I didn’t want it burning my mouth. BUT the brown sugar is really the key in this dish. It really mellows everything out so you get a great flavor, but not a painful amount of spice at all. It’s almost tangy. This is my new favorite at home snack.

photo (1)

One thought on “Spicy Edamame

Leave a Reply

